Promoting Peace through Music and Discussion

Past Recipients of the Peace Prize 2014 -1984

The White Helmet 2016

Malala Yousafzai 2013

Secretary of State John Kerry 2015

Ban Ki Moon 2014

Richard Haass 2012

Former President Mary McAleese

Senator Martin McAleese 2011

Senator Edward Kennedy

US ambassador to Ireland Jean Kennedy Smith 2009

Dr. Sima Samar 2010

Former Prime Minister of Pakistan, the late Benazir Bhutto 2007

Cluster Munition Coalition 2008

Former Prime Minster of Lebanon, the late Rafic Hariri 2005

Lord Robin Eames 2006

The Late Margaret Hassan 2004

Mayor Rudy Giuliani & New York City Fire Department 2011

U.S Senator, George Mitchell 1999

Mr. John O'Shea 2003

Former U.S. President,

Bill Clinton 2000

Ms Adi Roche 1997

Sr. Ethel Normoyle 1996

Dr. Martin Mansergh,

Rev. Roy Magee & Fr. Alex Reid 1995

Mona Juul & Terje Larsen 1993

Mr Geoff Loane 1992

Mr. Peter Brooke 1990

Former South African President Nelson Mandela 1989

Former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev 1988

Senator Gordon Wilson 1987

Mr Barry McGuigan 1986

Sir Bob Geldof 1985

The Late Sean McBride 1984

Mrs. Mary Robinson, Chair of The Elders & former President of Ireland & former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, is to receive the 2018 Tipperary (Ire) International Peace Award

 will receive the

2018 International Peace Award

Former Irish president and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Mary Robinson is the recipient of this year's Tipperary International Peace Award. Mrs Robinson was chosen for the accolade in recognition of her work to ensure that human rights issues are a central tenet of global politics and governance. The announcement was made yesterday (Thursday) by the Tipperary Peace Convention who praised the current Chair of The Elders for "putting human rights standards at the heart of global governance by ensuring that the needs of the poorest and most vulnerable are addressed on the global stage". Mrs Robinson joins a list of former winners which include Nelson Mandela, Bill Clinton, Mary McAleese, Malala Yousafzai, Ban-ki Moon and last year's recipient, former Colombian president Juan Manuel Santos. "I am very honoured to receive the Tipperary International Peace Award, which is a wonderful example of a local community organising a prize for peace which has achieved wide international standing and recognition," she said. Mrs Robinson, born in Ballina, Co Mayo, was elected as the first woman president of Ireland in 1990 and stayed in the role for seven years before serving as the UN's High Commissioner for Human Rights from 1997 to 2002. She has worked in several UN Special Envoy positions and established the Mary Robinson Foundation for Climate Justice. She celebrated her 75th birthday in May. "Mrs Robinson is a passionate, forceful advocate for gender equality, women’s participation in peace-building and human dignity in all regions of the world. Her advocacy on sustainable and people-centred development in the world’s poorest communities is recognised through her work on many international bodies," said Martin Quinn, Secretary of the Tipperary Peace Convention. "A tireless champion of women’s equality, Mrs Robinson has travelled to many conflict zones to promote peace efforts and to encourage reconciliation and democratic transition. "Mrs Robinson is an outspoken advocate on the effects of climate change and of the need to focus the world’s attention to meet the urgent challenges posed by extreme weather events on the poorest and on the most vulnerable of communities," he said.


© 2017 Tipperary Peace Convention. All Rights Reserved.